do you read me?!

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

About | Contact | Account

News & Novelties
Magazines, Books & Goods
Subscription & Services

Likes:
Items / Cart:

Whale – Cheon Myeong-Kwan

Sold out

A sweeping, multi-generational tale blending fable, farce, and fantasy–a masterpiece of modern fiction perfect for fans of One Hundred Years of Solitude. Whale is the English-language debut of a beloved and bestselling South Korean author, a born storyteller with a cinematic, darkly humorous, and thoroughly original perspective. A woman sells her daughter to a passing beekeeper for two jars of honey. A baby weighing fifteen pounds is born in the depths of winter but named “Girl of Spring.” A storm brings down the roof of a ramshackle restaurant to reveal a hidden fortune. These are just a few of the events that set Myeong-kwan Cheon’s beautifully crafted, wild world in motion. Whale, set in a remote village in South Korea, follows the lives of many linked characters, including Geumbok, an extremely ambitious woman who has been chasing an indescribable thrill ever since she first saw a whale crest in the ocean; her mute daughter, Chunhui, who communicates with elephants; and a one-eyed woman who controls honeybees with a whistle. Brimming with surprises and wicked humor, Whale is an adventure-satire of epic proportions by one of the most original voices in international literature.

Sold out

LikeUnlike
Like

Article number: 35527 Category: Tags: , ,
Additional Information
Weight: 0,45 kg
Dimensions: 21 × 14 × 3 cm
Published

Language

Origin

Pages

Article